Opaeula.co.uk

A dedicated forum and online store for the Opae ula shrimp! 

Share photos/videos, journals and logs for your Opae ula tank setups for others to read.
 #1334  by caine

Hi, I'm new here but have kept aquariums for quite some time.

I've been keeping opae ula for about about 8 months. Originally i had them in this little 5 gallon equipped with a heater, HMF + small adjustable pump, gravity fed ATO, crushed volcanic rock substrate and a pile of volcanic rock for the shrimps to hide and breed in. I started with 11 shrimp. After two berthing events, I now have about 35 shrimp. 12 of these are juveniles. When one of my aquariums opened up for new residents i decided to move them from the 5 gallon to the newly vacated 10 gallon aquarium.

This is what the 5 gallon currently looks like.

The juveniles are still in there. I'm finding it challenging to catch at the moment so I'll let them fatten up a bit before moving them to the new home. The new home.is much better.

It is a standard 10 gallon aquarium with crushed volcanic rock substrate, volcanic rock piles for breeding and hiding. It is running a heater, gravity fed ATO and a PVC pipe DIY, air driven, undergravel filter running at a trickle. I decided to do the UGF to try to simulate the slight current that I imagine their natural habitat would have between rocks and rubble. Salinity is at 1.010.

https://vimeo.com/184620054

In addition to the shrimps, I have some horned nerite sun snails in there to help clean up a little.

Here are some closer up photos of the setup. The original 11 used to be more red, but only a few are red now.

If you look really closely, you can see a female carrying a clutch of eggs. It looks like they are ready to be released any time now. I don't even understand how she can swim without dropping the eggs :o They seem to like the rock pile on the left a lot and I'm not sure why.