Opaeula.co.uk

A dedicated forum and online store for the Opae ula shrimp! 

This section is to discuss anything Opae ula shrimp and brackish water related. e.g Nerite snails, algae etc..
 #1533  by Priscilla

Hi everyone!

I'm new to shrimp keeping and this forum and I have some questions.
I've had my opae ula for about 3 months now and I'm trying to get them to breed. :oh:

1. I'm having difficulty bringing up the pH level, its kinda stuck at 7.8

2. I saw a shrimp with a green saddle (I think) but none berried yet, could there be something wrong with the tank?

3. Can I add these glow in the dark stars in the tank? Will it pollute the water or ruin its parameters?

4. How much should I feed them? I have 16 shrimps in a 2.8litres tank. I usually give them two 3mm length pellets because if I add one, they would fight.

I have so many questions but when I'm typing these out, some questions disappear :dead:
Attachments:
Are they trying to mate?
Are they trying to mate?
image2.JPG (17.94 KiB) Viewed 10294 times
Can I add these glow in the dark stars into the tank?
Can I add these glow in the dark stars into the tank?
image1.JPG (34.55 KiB) Viewed 10294 times
 #1534  by Ann

Hi, Priscilla,
Nice to meet you. I haven't even started my tank yet, but Odin is wonderful at answering questions. I've asked about 101 and will probably ask 101 more. :smile: Welcome to the Forum. Hope to see you often.
Ann
 #1536  by Ann

You will fit right in.I'm sure that Odin will be on soon.
Ann :smile:
Last edited by Ann on 10 Oct 2016 20:20, edited 1 time in total.
 #1537  by odin

Hey @Priscilla ! Welcome to our Opae ula forum. You have some interesting shrimp there (the white ones with a green saddle) are pretty rare. There are really only a few things that you need to get these guys breeding.
  • - Sexual maturity
    - Males and females.
    - Enough free tank space.
    - Good food.
    - Healthy water parameters.
    - Stable water parameters/temperature.
    - No disturbances.