Opaeula.co.uk

A dedicated forum and online store for the Opae ula shrimp! 

Having issues with your tank or inhabitants? Need to know what equipment to use or have other questions? Post here!
 #5694  by Paulao

Hi all, new guy here with some questions here.

I'm residing in Singapore so weather temperature is probably between 26degree - 30degree throughout, currently having 2 x 9litres tank with black quartz, lava rocks, chollas wood, no filter and each housing around 30 opae ula. Reason why i want to start a new tank is because the above tanks that i've got is in bad condition where there is no breeding occurring. "possibility because i have no prior knowledge and done many mistake to the water perimeters."

Therefore for a fresh start, I've purchased a 57litre tank, some black & white sand, some coral stones. Would like to avoid mistake before starting the tank so hope to get some advice here.

1) Anyone used Red Sea Salt to make the brackish water? It was stated as synthetic marine salt so not sure if it is suitable

2) Filter : Yes or No? Just wondering if having a filter would allow better water quality maintenance / or would it be needed in order to cycle a tank?

3) Can i use the lava rocks, cholla wood from my previous tank "which are already in bad water condition" for my new tank?

4) What do i need to add to the water during cycling stage? Do i need add spirulina powder/shrimp food etc?

5) If water assistant like Api Quick start / Seachem Prime needed?

6) How to grow those nice green algae on the lava rocks and tank? I've seem some tank with beautiful algae rocks on youtube.

Sorry for asking so many question as I really hope to doing up a good tank for my opae ulas.
 #5695  by tzg

hi paulao, im from sg too. my friend's tank is breeding like crazy
1. not sure what salt she used as some ppl gave it to her
2. the only thing that consume electricity is her light